2019 NEW YEAR BASH CHESS TOURNAMENT REPORT

The **2019 New Year Bash Tournament** (Saturday, January 5) was well attended. The event was 4 rounds with game in sixty minutes with 5 second delay. Brian Yang and CJ Armenta directed event. There were **68 chess players playing** (21 in the Open Section, 24 in the Reserve section U1800, and 23 players in Amateur section U1400). There was a fairly even distribution of numbers of chess players in each of the three sections.

The **Open section** was won by Missouri player Ron Luther with 3.5 points out of 4. There was a three way tie for second at 3.0 points between Kansas players Rahul Manohar Mepparambath, Jason Wawrzaszek, and Sho Glashausser.

In the **Reserve section (U1800)** there was a three way tie for first between Missouri player CJ Armenta and Kansas chess players Charles Carlson, and Chad Kern at 3.5 points out of 4.

In the **Amateur section (U1400)** first place was Kansas scholastic player Xiang Zhang at 4 points. There was a six way tie for second place at 3.0 points but with only Alex Glashausser and Thomas Claman splitting first and second place money. Krishna B-Nair at 2.5 points won the third place money prize in Amateur section. There were quite a few scholastic players in Amateur section who were not competing for money prizes, including the first place finisher in the section and four of the six players tied at 3.0 points.

The vast majority of chess players in the New Year Bash were from Kansas (52) followed by 15 chess players from Missouri and 1 chess player from Oklahoma. This is a similar percentage distribution of players from other states that occurred in the 2018 Kansas Open which was held in Lenexa this last summer (also a suburb of KC).

PICTURES



Tourney director Brian Yang giving out cash to Amateur section prize winners

Alex Glashausser amd Tom Claman



Tourney organizer and director Brian Yang (left) with (left to right) CJ Armenta, Charles Carlson, and Chad Kern



Winning third place money in Amateur section was Krishna B-Nair



First round action- (left to right) Missouri player David Saylor playing Jason Wawrzaszek who tied for second place in Open section



Third round action- CJ Armenta playing Chinmay Krishna (back to you) and with glasses Missouri player John Rebholz playing Charles Carlson



Rahul Manohar Mepparambath who tied for second place in Open section



Third round action- Chad Kern playing Josh Stimpfle (left to right)



(Back to you) Cael Province playing Open section winner (with cap) Ron Luther in the first round (Ron won game)

PHOTO SHARING LINK- You can download photos from link (click on link)

 $\frac{https://photos.google.com/share/AF1QipNIKLtNr284D8NaqMuYugKvxeDimIgKdBCl4vv47H5uFN4GGcHpi9CsBNoGVRpQKQ?}{key=SWJLX0o3MWdmdmlSLW9NN3dxMzAzNi1GeENMN053}$

THE END Games with analysis to follow