NEW YEAR BASH REPORT

The **New Year Bash chess tourney** has been held for nine years (if one includes this year;s event), always on the first Saturday in January of each year. Since December 31st fell on a Saturday, the New Year Bash tourney was on **January 7**th of this year, the latest in January it has ever been held. The attendance was the largest of all the previous tourneys with 61 participating, 23 in the Open section and 37 in the Reserve section (and with one house player).

In the **Open section** Jason Wawrzaszek finished first by himself with 3.5 points out of 4 possible (3 wins and 1 draw). There was a four way tie for second place with Abhishek Mallela, Hyung Ju Nam, Eddison Chen, and Andrew Bledsoe all finishing with 3.0 points. Noteworthy is the performance of scholastic player Eddison Chen. After his first round loss to Abhishek he won three games over opponents all rated over 200 points higher than him. His rating went up 148 points with his performance (1612 to 1760). Andrew Bledsoe had a similar performance in the Open section. He also finished with three wins and one loss against opponents with an average rating of 1969. His rating went up 150 points (1604 to 1754).

The **Reserve section** (under 1600 rating) was a five way tie for first place with five players finishing tied at 3.5 points in the four round event. They are Ethan Bui, Samuel Harrison Young, Chad Kern, scholastic player Mitchell Harger, and Charles William Carlson. All had 3 wins and 1 draw.

Thanks to all who attended this event and especially to Brian Yang who both organized and directed the event. CJ Armenta both assisted and played in the event.

I have my **photo blog** of event with link below and the Brian Yang also posted photos of the event with his link second.

Laurence Coker's blog (plus one photo from Brian's blog) https://get.google.com/albumarchive/108586918080555793271/album/AF1QipM zyHKQemGe5wYWHv_Bk7_OIzwN2QRQCK4Z_15i? source=pwa&authKey=CP3ZrdK50ZOZIgE Brian Yang's photo blog http://imgur.com/a/hcAUI

Next page (photos of winners)



Jason Wawrzaszek (winner of Open Section) with Brian Yang



Reserve section winner (tied) Ethan Bui with Brian Yang



Reserve Section winner (tied) Chad Kern with Brian Yang



Reserve section winner (tied) Charles Carlson with Brian Yang



Reserve section winner (tied) Samuel Young with Brian Yang

Not pictured here is Reserve section winner Mitchell Harger (tied) who played as a scholastic player and did not win any money. See last picture in report



Eddison Chen (beat 3 players rated 200 points higher than him in Open section). He finished with 3 points in Open section.



Sam Un playing Open section winner Jason Wawrzaszek with Mohammedreza Hajiarbabi and Ron Luther in background (left to right)



Co-winners of Reserve section playing each other- Chad Kern vs. Mitchell Harger (left to right). Their game ended in a draw. Unknown players are in background.

GAMES

My games section is a work in progress. I am doing something new. I have been working with Fritz 12 and Chessbase 13. With Chessbase 13 I have been able to give links to games put on the web to be played through from the beginning with analysis given. I have only been looking at Open section games so far, so more games are to follow and the games from Open section may be trimmed down in my final report. It was nice to have Andrew Bledsoe send all moves from all four of his games. In order to see games one has to have Java script enabled. Analysis is by Fritz 12. Tell me what you think if you get a chance.

1.Sho Glashausser 0; Andrew Bledsoe 1 http://www.viewchess.com/cbreader/2017/1/29/Game25243239.html

2. Zachary Schuh 0: Andrew Bledsoe 1 http://www.viewchess.com/cbreader/2017/1/29/Game25372439.html

3. Andrew Bledsoe 1; Abhishek Mallela 0 http://www.viewchess.com/cbreader/2017/1/29/Game25419988.html

4. Jason Wawrzaszek 1: Andrew Bledsoe 0 http://www.viewchess.com/cbreader/2017/1/29/Game25472280.html

5. Sam Un 0; Jason Wawrzaszek 1 http://www.viewchess.com/cbreader/2017/1/29/Game25540171.html

6. Ron Luther 0: Abhishek Mallela 1 http://www.viewchess.com/cbreader/2017/1/29/Game25591059.html

7. Joey Kelly 0: Jason Wawrzaszek 1 http://www.viewchess.com/cbreader/2017/1/29/Game25636642.html

8. Eddison Chen 1; Zachary Schuh 0 http://www.viewchess.com/cbreader/2017/1/29/Game25673271.html

9. Hyung Ju Nam 1: William Brown 0 http://www.viewchess.com/cbreader/2017/1/29/Game25712771.html

10. Jason Wawrzaszek ½ ; Shakti Shimpi ½ <u>http://www.viewchess.com/cbreader/2017/1/29/Game25765780.html</u>